top of page
Elvis Costello | Secret Profane & Sugarcane

Elvis Costello | Secret Profane & Sugarcane

SKU: HRM-31473-01

Vinyl version includes two bonus tracks not available on CD. 2009 album from the legendary singer / songwriter and Rock icon, which sees him returning to acoustic American roots music for the first time since his 1986 album King of America. The album was produced by T Bone Burnett and recorded during a three-day session at Nashville's Sound Emporium Studio. Costello and Burnett have previously collaborated on King of America and Spike. Costello's band for the project includes such Bluegrass and traditional country musicians as Jerry Douglas (dobro), Stuart Duncan (fiddle), Mike Compton (mandolin), Jeff Taylor (accordion) and Dennis Crouch (double bass). Emmylou Harris sings on one song, and Burnett adds his Kay electric guitar sound to several songs, the only amplified instrument on the album. Ten of the album's tracks are new Costello compositions, including two written with Burnett. One song, "I Felt the Chill, was written by Costello and Loretta Lynn, while two of the album's tracks -" Hidden Same "and" Boom Chicka Boom - were originally written by Costello for Johnny Cash.

Apple Music

    bottom of page